A bronze thumb sculpture in the middle of Souq Waqif, with a number of buildings and cafes in the background.

Pouce (Thumb)

The installation of César's Pouce in Souq Waqif continues the programme of installations by major artists at unexpected locations throughout Qatar.

Qatar Museums selected Souq Waqif as the location for Pouce so the work could act as a landmark of modern art in the heart of the city, combining the traditional with the contemporary. Its central position, at the top of Al Souq Street and at the heart of the bustling restaurant area, emphasises its scale in relation to the surrounding streetscape of cafés, coffee shops and eateries.

At night, the highly polished bronze patina of the sculpture complements the glow of street lighting at this site and during the day, the work is visible from numerous angles and street views. It has become a prominent marker, a familiar spot where people agree to meet. It also provides an important location for tourists and visitors and has become a stop within public art tours that reflect upon both the art and the diverse public spaces of the city.

About the Artist

César Baldaccini (1921-1998) was born of Italian parents in Marseilles, France. He was a key figure in the French 1960s art movement Noveau Réalisme, emphasising the use of everyday objects over traditional art materials.

The original cast of the artist’s own thumb was first produced for an exhibition on the theme of hands titled Le Main in 1965, in Paris. The artist then made a series of increasingly larger versions of the thumb, scaling up the smaller model using traditional techniques. The motif of the thumb has since become the most well known of the artist’s subjects.

Share this page

منحوتة بعنوان "الإبهام" في سوق واقف من إبداع الفنان الفرنسي سيزار بالداتشيني.

منحوتة الإبهام

يواصل العمل الفني ’الإبهام‘ للفنان الفرنسي سيزار في سوق واقف مسيرة تشييد الأعمال الفنية لكبار الفنانين في مواقع غير متوقعة في جميع أنحاء قطر.

تمّ اختيار موقع سوق واقف من قِبَل متاحف قطر لعرض العمل الفني ’الإبهام’ ليكون بمثابة معلم للفن الحديث في قلب مدينة الدوحة، ولإبراز ما يمتاز به السوق من روح تمزج بين الأصالة والحداثة، باعتباره من أهم المعالم التراثية في قلب المدينة. ويُسهم الموقع الدقيق للمنحوتة في إبراز حجمها مقارنة بالمباني المحيطة بها.

وأثناء الليل، يتناغم لون المنحوتة البرونزي اللامع مع وهج إضاءة الشوارع في السوق، بينما تُعلن في النهار حضورها القوي، إذ يمكن رؤيتها من زوايا ومحطات عديدة، لتشكّل بذلك معلماً هاماً ومقصداً مميزاً لزائري السوق والسائحين، ولتمثّل محطة جديدة وفريدة من محطات الفن العام المنتشرة في ساحات عدة في أنحاء البلاد.

لمحة عن الفنان سيزار

ولد سيزار بالداتشيني (1921-1998) من أبوين إيطاليين في مرسيليا بفرنسا. كان من أبرز الشخصيات الفنية في الحركة الفنية الفرنسية "الواقعية الجديدة" التي اشتهرت خلال فترة الستينيات، حيث عُرف عنه التركيز على استخدام الأشياء اليومية بدلاً من المواد الفنية التقليدية.

تمً إنتاج القالب الأول لإبهام الفنان لأول مرة في معرض حول موضوع الأيدي بعنوان «اليد» في عام 1965، في باريس. قام الفنان بعد ذلك بسلسلة من النسخ الأكبر من منحوتة الإبهام، وتوسيع النموذج الأصغر باستخدام التقنيات التقليدية. ومنذ ذلك الحين، أصبح شكل الإبهام هو الأكثر شهرة من بين موضوعات الفنان.

شارك هذه الصفحة