Jeff Koons: Lost in America

Exhibition

Curated by Massimiliano Gioni, the exhibition provides a unique view into the exceptional career of one of the world’s best-known contemporary artists, whose work bridges Pop, Minimalism and the readymade. This is Koons’ first exhibition in the Gulf region.

Please note that special operating hours will be in effect at our museums, galleries, shops, restaurants and cafés on select dates during FIFA 2021 Arab Cup™.

Find out more

Lost in America presents a portrait of American culture as seen through Koons’ autobiography, beginning with his childhood in suburban Pennsylvania. The exhibition features more than sixty artworks drawn from Koons’ four-decades-long career and is divided into 16 galleries, each introduced by the artist, emphasising his memories, influences and fascination with American visual culture. Conceived as an expansive self-portrait, Lost in America also includes sculptures and paintings with mesmerising, mirrored surfaces that reflect the viewers and call attention to notions of self-transformation and becoming.

Some of the artist’s best-known work will be represented from series such as The New (1980–87), Banality (1988), Celebration (1994–), Popeye (2002–13) and Antiquity (2008–), alongside more recent works that will be shown for the first time during this special exhibition. In Koons’ paintings and sculptures, including some of the artist’s most iconic pieces such as Rabbit (1986), Balloon Dog (Orange) (1994–2000) and Play-Doh (1994–2014), everyday objects and industrial materials are transformed into engaging artworks that pose questions about desire and hope, the self and transcendence, individuality and the masses.

Throughout his career, Jeff Koons has radically transformed the world of art, forging new relationships between the avant-garde and mass culture, while developing new paradigms for the role of the artist in the age of hyper-communication. He shares a preoccupation with American popular culture with many of his predecessors, who include artists such as Roy Lichtenstein and Andy Warhol, and with peers such as Robert Gober, Barbara Kruger, Richard Prince, Charles Ray and Cindy Sherman.

Download the Exhibition Guide
A shiny, orange metal sculpture in the shape of a dog made out of balloons

Jeff Koons, Balloon Dog (Orange), 1994–2000, Mirror-polished stainless steel with transparent colour coating, 307.3 x 363.2 x 114.3 cm, one of five unique versions, The Mugrabi Collection. © Jeff Koons. Courtesy Mnuchin Gallery, New York. Photo: Tom Powel Imaging.

Sponsored by

Jeff Koons: Lost in America is sponsored by Ooredoo, Qatar Airways and Katara Hospitality.

Presented as part of the Qatar-United States 2021 Year of Culture

The Qatar-United States 2021 Year of Culture, sponsored by ExxonMobil, is an annual international cultural exchange designed to deepen understanding between nations and their people.

Share this page

جيف كونز: تائهٌ في أميركا

المعارض

يقدّم معرض "تائهٌ في أميركا" الذي أشرف على إعداده القيّم الفني ماسيميليانو جيوني، نظرة فريدة على المسيرة المهنية الاستثنائية للفنان التشكيلي جيف كونز، وهو أحد أشهر الفنانين المعاصرين في العالم، والذي تجمع أعماله بين فن البوب، والبساطة، والجاهزية. ويعتبر هذا المعرض أول معرض لجيف كونز في منطقة الخليج العربي.

سيتم تعديل ساعات العمل في المتاحف، وصالات العرض، والمطاعم، والمقاهي، التابعة لمتاحف قطر في تواريخ محددة خلال بطولة كأس العرب FIFA قطر 2021™.

اكتشف المزيد

ويقدّم معرض "تائهٌ في أمريكا" صورة عن الثقافة الأميركية استوحاها كونز من مراحل حياته بدءاً من طفولته في إحدى ضواحي ولاية بنسلفانيا. ويضم المعرض أكثر من 60 عملاً فنياً من مختلف مراحل مسيرة كونز على مدى أربعة عقود من الزمن. وتتوزّع الأعمال الفنية على 16 صالة عرض؛ يقدّم كل منها نصاً عن السيرة الذاتية للفنان، مع التركيز على ذكرياته، وتأثره، وانبهاره بالثقافة البصرية الأميركية. ويُنظر إلى المعرض باعتباره صورة ذاتية واسعة النطاق، ويتضمن أيضاً منحوتات ولوحات ذات أسطح عاكسة ساحرة تعكس المشاهدين وتلفت الانتباه إلى مفاهيم التحوّل الذاتي والصيرورة.

سيتم تمثيل بعض الأعمال الأكثر شهرة لكونز من مجموعات مثل "جديد" (1980-1987)، و"عادي" (1988)، و"احتفال" (1994- )، و"پاپاي" (2002-2013)، و"عتائق" (2008- )، إلى جانب المزيد من الأعمال التي ستعرض لأول مرة خلال هذا المعرض الخاص. يقوم كونز في لوحاته ومنحوتاته، بما في ذلك بعض القطع الأكثر شهرة لهذا الفنان مثل "أرنب" (1986) و"كلب بالبالونات (برتقالي)" (1994-2000) و"معجون اللعب" (1994-2014)، بتحويل الأشياء اليومية والمواد الصناعية إلى أعمال فنية جذابة تثير أسئلة حول الرغبة والأمل، والذات والسمو، والفردية والجماهير.

وخلال حياته الفنية، حوّل جيف كونز عالم الفن بشكل جذري، حيث أقام علاقات جديدة بين الثقافة الحداثية والجماهيرية، مع تطوير نماذج جديدة لدور الفنان في عصر شديد التواصل. يشارك كونز انشغاله بالثقافة الشعبية الأميركية مع العديد من أسلافه، ولا سيما روي ليختنشتاين وآندي وارهول، ومعاصريه مثل روبرت غوبر وباربارا كروغر وريتشارد برينس وسيندي شيرمان.

يُقام معرض "جيف كونز: تائهٌ في أميركا" برعاية شركة Ooredoo، والخطوط الجوية القطرية، وكتارا للضيافة.

يأتي المعرض في إطار العام الثقافي قطر - أميركا 2021، الراعي البلاتيني إكسون موبيل.

حمّل دليل المعرض
تمثال معدني لامع على شكل كلب برتقالي مصنوع من البالونات

جيف كونز، "كلب بالبالونات (برتقالي)"، 1994–2000، فولاذ مقاوم للصدأ مصقول بدرجة عالية مع طلاء ملوَّن شفاف، 307.3 × 363.2 × 114.3 سم، إحدى خمس نسخ مختلفة، مجموعة مغربي. © جيف كونز. بإذن من غاليري منوشن، نيويورك. الصورة: توم باول إيماجينغ.

الرعاة الرسميون

معرض جيف كونز: تائهٌ في أميركا برعاية أريدُ، والخطوط الجوية القطرية، وكتارا للضيافة

جزء من العام الثقافي قطر - أميركا 2021

العام الثقافي قطر - أميركا 2021، برعاية إكسون موبيل، هو برنامج تبادل ثقافي يهدف إلى تمتين الروابط الثقافية بين الدولتين وشعبيهما

شارك هذه الصفحة