Archaeology and Heritage

Two men kneeling on sandy desert ground using small tools to expose archeological remains at Al Zurbarah, Qatar

From Bronze Age settlements to medieval palaces, 19th-century forts, villages, towers and mosques, the archaeology and conservation team excavate, restore and protect the parts of Qatar that flourished long ago.

Pushing the Field

Our archaeology and architectural conservation departments manage, conserve, protect and enhance archaeology and archaeological practices in Qatar.

To support progress in the archaeology field more generally, we invite conversations with the international community. We regularly welcome specialists from other parts of the world, hold conferences and engage in international cooperative projects.

Visitors to our sites are introduced to the historical heritage of the region.

Faisal Abdulla Al Naimi, Director, Department of Archaeology, Qatar Museums

We design activities at our visitor centres that urge interaction and get residents excited about our discipline. We place special focus on school groups and have partnered with UCL Qatar to introduce archaeology degree programmes to university students. These will open up possibilities for locals with an interest in the subject to get involved in the safeguarding of Qatar’s cultural heritage.

Our archaeology team works in other parts of the world too, sharing knowledge and experience. This helps us enter broader dialogue about the discipline and extends the influence of our research. One of these projects, the Qatar-Sudan Archaeology Project, aims to develop research and protect heritage in the Republic of Sudan.

Share this page

علم الآثار والتراث

رجلان يستخدمان أدوات صغيرة للكشف عن البقايا الأثرية في موقع الزبارة الأثري في قطر.

ينقب فريقا الآثار والحفاظ المعماري في مناطق متنوعة من قطر كانت في الماضي تعرف ازدهاراً كبيراً، ويعملا على ترميمها وصونها، من قرى وتجمعات سكنية  تعود إلى العصر البرونزي إلى قصور العصور الوسطى، وحصون القرن التاسع عشر، والقرى، والأبراج، والمساجد.

دفع المجال للتقدّم

تقوم إدارتا الآثار، والحفاظ المعماري بإدارة الآثار والممارسات الأثرية في قطر وتعمل على حفظها وحمايتها وتعزيزها.

ومن أجل تحقيق التقدم في مجال الآثار بشكل عام، نفتح أبواب الحوار مع المجتمع الدولي من خلال استضافة أخصائيين من مختلف بقاع العالم، وعقد مؤتمرات، والانخراط في المشاريع التعاونية الدولية.

سيتم إطلاع الزوّار على التراث التاريخي للمنطقة... تقدّم كل من القصص والعروض والكتالوجات والمطبوعات والصور تجربة تعليمية قيمة

فيصل عبدالله النعيمي، مدير إدارة الآثار في متاحف قطر

تبني متاحف قطر الخبرات التي تتحدى الاعتيادي والقواعد، حيث تصمم الأنشطة في المراكز المخصصة للزوّار؛ لحثهم وتحفيزهم على التفاعل والانخراط، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على جمهور المدارس، ولهذا الغرض أبرمت متاحف قطر شراكة مع كلية لندن الجامعية في قطر لتقديم برامج لدراسات علم الآثار؛ وهذا ما سيفتح المجال أمام السكان المحليين المهتمين بهذا الموضوع، ومن ثم فتح آفاق أوسع في المستقبل.

يعمل فريق الآثار لدى متاحف قطر في مناطق أخرى من العالم أيضاً، وهو ما يتيح له تبادل المعارف والخبرات. فضلاً عن أنه يساعد على الدخول في حوار أوسع حول المعرفة ويعزز خبرات الفريق في مجال البحوث. اقرأ المزيد عن أحد هذه المشاريع، وهوالمشروع القطري السوداني للآثار، والذي يهدف إلى تطوير البحوث وحماية التراث في جمهورية السودان.

شارك هذه الصفحة