Labour of Love: Embroidering Palestinian History

Exhibition

Labour of Love will take visitors on a journey of discovery of tatreez (embroidery) as woven into the fabric of Palestinian society.

Palestinian folk fashion presents a means to exploring Palestinian social history as a whole, and what women’s work, in particular, embodies at the centre of this history. It provides the basis to delve into how tatreez is woven into the social, economic, and political fabric of society across different historical periods

Curated by Baha Jubeh of The Palestinian Museum, and part of Qatar-MENASA 2022 Year of Culture, Labour of Love will investigate the symbolism of the practice, shining a light on the Palestinian thobe – a traditionally embroidered dress. Through works from the collections of Qatar Museums and the Palestinian Museum, it seeks to explore the legacy of tatreez through the lenses of gender, labour, commodity and class.

The exhibition will also trace the shift of tatreez from a personal practice, made with love, to a national symbol and onto a product circulating in the global marketplace.

Sponsorship support for Labour of Love provided by Ashraf Abu Issa, Ameed Hamed Al Hussein, Rami Elnatsha and Seedeco.

About the museum

The Palestinian Museum – Non-Governmental Association is dedicated to supporting an open and dynamic Palestinian culture nationally and internationally. The museum presents and engages with new perspectives on Palestinian history, society, and culture. It also offers spaces for creative ventures, educational programmes, and innovative research.

Share this page

غَزْل العروق: حياكة تاريخ فلسطين

المعارض

يحمل معرض "غَزْل العروق: حياكة تاريخ فلسطين" الزوّار في رحلةٍ لاستكشاف التطريز وارتباطه بالمجتمع الفلسطيني.

المشاركة مع صديق

تمثّل الأزياء الشعبيّة الفلسطينيّة أداةً لاستكشاف التاريخ الاجتماعيّ الفلسطينيّ ككُلّ، وما يجسّدهُ عمل المرأة، على وجه الخصوص، كمركزٍ لهذا التّاريخ، وكأساسٍ لبحث ارتباط المُطرَّزات الوثيق بالبُنى الاجتماعيّة والاقتصاديّة والسياسيّة للمراحل المُختلفة.

يأتي هذا المعرض ضمن فعاليات العام الثقافي قطر- الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا وجنوب آسيا 2022، ويحاول المعرض، من خلال ما يعرضه من مقتنيات متاحف قطر والمتحف الفلسطيني، تفكيك رمزية التطريز، وتسليط الضوء على الثّوب الفلسطينيّ التقليدي، واستكشاف التطريز الفلسطينيّ وعلاقته مع النوع الاجتماعيّ والعمل والسلع والطَّبقات الاجتماعيّة.

كما سيتتبع المعرض التحوّلات التي شهدها الثّوب الفلسطينيّ، ابتداء من كونه ممارسة ذاتيّة، أساسها الحبّ، إلى رمزٍ وطنيٍّ، ثمّ لاحقاً إلى مُنتجٍ متداول في الأسواق العالميّة.

تُقام النسخة الثانية من المعرض بالشّراكة بين المتحف الفلسطينيّ ومتاحف قطر، وهي من تقييم بهاء الجعبة، مدير المجموعات في المتحف الفلسطينيّ.

شارك في رعاية معرض "غَزْل العروق: حياكة تاريخ فلسطين" أشرف أبو عيسى، عميد حامد الحسين، رامي النتشه و سيديكو.

المتحف الفلسطيني

المتحف الفلسطيني جمعية غير حكومية، مكرسة لتعزيز ثقافة فلسطينية منفتحة وحيوية على المستويين المحلي والدولي. يقدم المتحف ويساهم في إنتاج روايات عن تاريخ فلسطين وثقافتها ومجتمعها بمنظورٍ جديد، كما يوفر بيئة حاضنة للمشاريع الإبداعية والبرامج التعليمية والأبحاث المبتكرة.

تفاصيل أكثر عن المعرض