All Exhibitions

Raqs Media Collective: Still More World

21 March 2019 - 31 July 2019

Raqs Media Collective was founded in 1992 by Jeebesh Bagchi, Monica Narula and Shuddhabrata Sengupta. The collective’s artistic practice examines questions of the everyday, alongside philosophical and historical inquiries of the universe. Unravelling structures of economies, time, and language, their work examines the shifting state of contemporary life and boundaries of visibility. This exploration of transformation, is embedded in the process and subject of their work, and in the collective’s name – ‘raqs’ – a term for movement and whirling, in Urdu/Hindustani, Arabic, and Persian.

The exhibition draws on the energy of Doha’s urban landscape of light, which symbolises this global city in continuous movement, its networks of people, and raw materials. Thirteen installations ranging from videos, to textiles and sculptures made between 2011 and 2019 are presented at Mathaf across the city of Doha. A part of the series Dohas for Doha (2019) will be displayed on Burj Doha from March 20 – April 3 2019 to mark the conversation between Raqs and the city.

The works in this exhibition re-examine human progress and natural resources, considering historical and contemporary movements of people and the way terrains change. Still More World offers a rephrasing of the prevailing sensibility, embodying the double bind of humanity’s present condition; the promise and desire for growth coupled with the question of how much more the earth has left to give.

This exhibition is part of Qatar India 2019 Year of Culture.

Curator, Laura Barlow

Assistant Curator, Lina Ramadan

MATHAF: ARAB MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

Founded in 2010, is situated in Education City in Qatar Foundation (QF), in a renovated former school building. QF is led by HH Sheikha Moza bint Nasser.

Raqs Media Collective, Alive, with Cerussite and Peppered Moth, 2017. 3D printed PLA plastic, cast polyester resin, plywood and video projections, variable dimensions. Installation view from Raqs Media Collective, Twilight Language, at The Whitworth, University of Manchester, 2017.   

Raqs Media Collective, Alive, with Cerussite and Peppered Moth, 2017. 3D printed PLA plastic, cast polyester resin, plywood and video projections, variable dimensions. Installation view from Raqs Media Collective, Twilight Language, at The Whitworth, University of Manchester, 2017.

Raqs Media Collective, Spinal, 2018. Still from 4K video, 10 min, 24 sec.

Raqs Media Collective, Spinal, 2018. Still from 4K video, 10 min, 24 sec.

Raqs Media Collective, A Planet Turns on its Axis without Permission, 2018. Still from 4K video, 18 min, 6 sec.  

Raqs Media Collective, A Planet Turns on its Axis without Permission, 2018. Still from 4K video, 18 min, 6 sec.

Your Tweets
And Pictures

جميع المعارض

مجموعة رقص ميديا: تبقى عوالِم أخرى

أسَّس جيبيش باغشي ومونيكا نارولا وشودابراتا سينغوبتا "مجموعة رقص ميديا" عام 1992. يطرح الفنانون في أعمالهم قضايا يومية وتساؤلات تاريخية وفلسفية ذات علاقة بالكون. وتبحث أعمالهم، إلى جانب محاولة تفكيك بُنى الاقتصاد والزمن واللغة، عن حدود ما نراه وما تشهده الحياة المعاصِرة من تبدُّلات. وهذا البحث في حالة التغيّر مُكرَّسٌ في عملية إنتاجهم الفني وفي موضوع أعمالهم وحتى في استخدامهم لمصطلح "رقص" في اسم المجموعة والذي يشير إلى الحركة والالتفاف باللغات الأردية/الهندستانية والعربية والفارسية.

استُلهمَ معرض "مجموعة رقص ميديا: تبقى عوالِم أخرى" من طاقة مدينة الدوحة الحافلة بالأضواء حيث ترمز تلك الطاقة إلى هذه الحاضِرة العالمية في تطورها المستمر وشبكات الناس، والمواد الخام المتنوعة. وفي هذا الإطار سيتم عرض مجموعة مِن 13 عملاً تركيبياً في متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث وفي مدينة الدوحة، وقد تم إنتاج تلك الأعمال بين عامي 2011 و2019 وتشمل عروض فيديو ومنسوجات ومنحوتات. وفي إطار الحوار القائم بين مجموعة رقص ميديا والمدينة، سيتم عرض عمل "دوحاتٌ للدوحة" (2019) على "برج الدوحة" بين 20 مارس و3 أبريل 2019.     

تُعيد أعمال هذا المعرض معالجة مفهوم التطور الإنساني والموارد الطبيعية المتوافرة، مع الأخذ في عين الاعتبار الحركات التاريخية والمعاصِرة للشعوب وكذلك التغيرات الحاصلة في الطبيعة. وضمن المحاولات المستمرة لمجموعة رقص ميديا في استقصاء ما يتعذّر قياسه، يأتي معرض "تبقى عوالِم أخرى" بصياغة جديدة لوعينا عبر تجسيد الإشكالية المزدوجة المتمثلة بالوضع الحالي للإنسانية وكذلك الوعد والرغبة بالتطور في إطار التساؤل عن مدى قدرة الأرض على الاستمرار في العطاء.

يُنظَّم هذا المعرض في إطار فعاليات العام الثقافي قطر الهند 2019.

قيّمة المعرض، لورا بارلو
قيّمة المعرض المساعدة، لينا رمضان      

متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث

يضم متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث مجموعة فريدة من المقتنيات الحديثة والمعاصرة ذات المستوى العالمي من العالم العربي، وما يدور في فلكه على المستويين التاريخي والثقافي.
مجموعة رقص ميديا، "على قيد الحياة: معدن السيروسيت والعثّ المفلفل"، 2017. بلاستيك عضوي تم إعداده بطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد وراتنج مصبوب بالبوليستر وخشب رقائقي وإسقاط فيديو، أبعاد مختلفة. صورة للعمل من معرض "لغة الغسق"، في وايتوورث، جامعة مانشستر، 2017.
مجموعة رقص ميديا، "على قيد الحياة: معدن السيروسيت والعثّ المفلفل"، 2017. بلاستيك عضوي تم إعداده بطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد وراتنج مصبوب بالبوليستر وخشب رقائقي وإسقاط فيديو، أبعاد مختلفة. صورة للعمل من معرض "لغة الغسق"، في وايتوورث، جامعة مانشستر، 2017.
مجموعة رقص ميديا، "عمود فقري"، 2018. لقطة ثابتة من فيديو بدقة عالية (4K)، 10 دقائق و24 ثانية.
مجموعة رقص ميديا، "عمود فقري"، 2018. لقطة ثابتة من فيديو بدقة عالية (4K)، 10 دقائق و24 ثانية.
مجموعة رقص ميديا، "كوكب يدور حول محوره بدون إذن"، 2018. لقطة ثابتة من فيديو بدقة عالية (4K)، 18 دقيقة و6 ثواني.
مجموعة رقص ميديا، "كوكب يدور حول محوره بدون إذن"، 2018. لقطة ثابتة من فيديو بدقة عالية (4K)، 18 دقيقة و6 ثواني.

التغريدات والصور

Browse through our Social Media Hub to get the latest QM news and discussions. Connect here https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/H6ETEQEmos
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
تصفح مواقعنا للتواصل الإجتماعي لمعرفة آخر أخبارنا. اضغط هنا للتواصل: https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/HYWT9ZlziP
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 Years of Building Bridges between Nations https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 سنوات: بناء جسور التواصل بين الشعوب والأمم https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017