All Exhibitions

Making Doha: 1950 – 2030

28 March 2019 – 30 August 2019

Curated by: Rem Koolhaas, Samir Bantal and Fatma Al Sehlawi

Qatar Museums is proud to present Making Doha: 1950 – 2030, on the occasion of the National Museum of Qatar inauguration.

The exhibition reflects on the process of urbanism rather than its outcome. For the first time Doha’s evolution is displayed as a retrospective through seventy years of archival photography, models, plans, films, historic and oral narratives. This material was excavated by Qatar based Atlas Bookstore research team from local and international institutional archives, complimented by interviews with state decision-makers, architects and city planners.

Designed by OMA/AMO, the exhibition examines how this capital city was assembled and how its construction affected the global discipline of architecture across four major chapters: Seeds of a Nation (1950–1971), Modern State (1971–1995), And the World (1995–2010) and Destination Qatar (2010–2030).

Doha is a metropolis put together with care; successive layers of ambition have not created a disjointed patchwork, but a functioning, original, livable whole. The city’s progressive, humanistic principles are translated by the leadership in state-led urban developments. Local, regional and international architects, eleven Pritzker Laureates among them, have together constructed a bold modern city. Driven by foresight and institution building Doha is an unparalleled architectural ensemble.

National Museum of Qatar

The complex form of the desert rose, found in Qatar’s arid desert regions, inspired the striking design of the new museum building, conceived by French architect Jean Nouvel.
“5th of June Arches”. Still from a Drone Flyover. Courtesy of Ashgal – Public Works Authority.
“5th of June Arches”. Still from a Drone Flyover. Courtesy of Ashgal – Public Works Authority.
“Doha Airport, 1960s”. Private collection.
“Doha Airport, 1960s”. Private collection.
“Doha, 1947”. Courtesy of Centre of GIS – Ministry of Municipality & Environment, State of Qatar.
“Doha, 1947”. Courtesy of Centre of GIS – Ministry of Municipality & Environment, State of Qatar.
“Model 5”. Making Doha ©. OMA.
“Model 5”. Making Doha ©. OMA.
“Qatar National Library”. Image by DSL ©. OMA.
“Qatar National Library”. Image by DSL ©. OMA.

Your Tweets
And Pictures

جميع المعارض

نَهْضَةُ الدَّوْحَة: 1950 – 2030

28 مارس 2019 - 30 أغسطس 2019

أمناء المعرض: رِم كولهاوس، سمير بانتال، فاطمة السهلاوي 

تفخر متاحف قطر بتقديم معرض "نَهْضَةُ الدَّوْحَة: 1950-2030" بالتزامن مع تدشين متحف قطر الوطني.

يُسلِّط المعرض الضوء على مسارات التطور العمراني للمدينة، وليس على مجرّد الشكل النهائي الذي أخذته. ومن أجل هذه الغاية وبالاستعانة بصور فوتوغرافية أرشيفية ونماذج لمشاريع وأفلام ومقابلات، يُقدِّم المعرض نظرة شاملة لتطوّر العاصمة القطرية على مدى سبعين عاماً. وبالاعتماد على أرشيف محلي ووثائق مؤسسات دولية بالإضافة إلى حوارات مع صناع القرار في الدولة ومعماريين وخبراء تخطيط مدن، أعدّ محتوى هذا المعرض الفريق البحثي في الدوحة لمكتبة أطلس.

والمعرض الذي صممته مؤسسة "أو إم إيه / إيه أم أو" يقتفي الأثر الذي تركته جهود بناء العاصمة القطرية على حقل العمارة في العالم من خلال أربع فترات رئيسية من تاريخها: نَوَاةُ وَطَن (1950–1971)، الدَّوْلَةُ الحَدِيْثَة (1971–1995)، نَحْوَ العَالَمِيَّة (1995–2010)، الوُجْهَةُ قَطَر (2010–2030).              

الدوحة هي مدينة كبرى ازدهرت بفضل العناية والاهتمام الذي حظيت به. واللافت أن ما شهدته العاصمة القطرية من موجات متتالية من تحديث طموح لم يؤدِّ إلى تطوّر غير متّسق بين أرجاء مختلفة من المدينة، بل خلق فضاءً حيوياً متكاملاً يتمتّع بالأصالة. وتتجلى المبادئ الإنسانية والتقدمية التي تنتهجها المدينة في الرؤية الواضحة التي تُدار بها المشاريع العمرانية الحكومية، فكانت الحصيلة تبلور معالم جريئة لمدينة حديثة تشكّلت بتضافر جهود كوكبة معماريين مخضرمين من قطر والمنطقة والعالم، منهم أحد عشر فائزاً بجائزة بريتزكر المرموقة للعمارة. وبفضل بصيرة الحُكام وبناء المؤسسات على أسس سليمة، أصبحت الدوحة عبارة عن توليفة معمارية لا نظير لها.

متحف قطر الوطني

يمثل متحف قطر الوطني درة تاج الثقافة القطرية، ويعكس تصميمه الهوية القطرية؛ إذ تتداخل فيه ملامح الأصالة والمعاصرة حيث أراد مصمّمه المعماريّ الفرنسي المرموق جان نوفيل أن تأخذ هذه التحفة المعمارية البديعة شكل الأقراص المتشابكة المستلهَمة من وردة الصحراء، والتي تستحضر نمط حياة الشعب القطري بين البحر والصحراء.
تقاطع 5 يونيو. لقطة ثابتة من طائرة بدون طيارة. بإذن من هيئة الأشغال العامة أشغال.
تقاطع 5 يونيو. لقطة ثابتة من طائرة بدون طيارة. بإذن من هيئة الأشغال العامة أشغال.
مطار الدوحة الستينيات. مجموعة خاصة.
مطار الدوحة الستينيات. مجموعة خاصة.
"الدوحة 1947". بإذن من مركز نظم المعلومات الجغرافية - وزارة البلدية والبيئة دولة قطر.
الدوحة 1947. بإذن من مركز نظم المعلومات الجغرافية - وزارة البلدية والبيئة دولة قطر.
"مجسّم 5". نهضة الدوحة ©. أو إم إيه.
مجسّم 5. نهضة الدوحة ©. أو إم إيه.
"مكتبة قطر الوطنية". الصورة من دي إس إل ©. أو إم إيه.
مكتبة قطر الوطنية. الصورة من دي إس إل ©. أو إم إيه.

التغريدات والصور

Browse through our Social Media Hub to get the latest QM news and discussions. Connect here https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/H6ETEQEmos
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
تصفح مواقعنا للتواصل الإجتماعي لمعرفة آخر أخبارنا. اضغط هنا للتواصل: https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/HYWT9ZlziP
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 Years of Building Bridges between Nations https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 سنوات: بناء جسور التواصل بين الشعوب والأمم https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017