Public Art Open Call: Student Competition 2021

Open call

This year's Public Art Student Open Call invites students to propose a public artwork to be created with recycled materials to further advocate Qatar Museums' ‘no waste' policy for a temporary installation to be displayed in public spaces in Doha.

Students must be enrolled or have graduated within two years as an alumnus of any local school, university or college. Up to five winning proposals will be chosen, and the selected students will be granted up to 25,000 QAR to realise their concept by December 2021.

Theme: Reduce / Re-use / Recycle

This year’s Open Call encourages students to consider the materials they use and the impact of those materials. While the type of material to be used must be found materials and everyday objects to create the sculptures, the theme of the sculpture itself is open. The students must consider what message they would like to convey through their work.

Some renowned artists that work with recycled materials: Subodh Gupta, Guerra de la Paz, Yuken Teruya and Dotun Popoola.

Your Proposal

Students are to consider choice of materials, durability, foundation work, fabricators, and installation methods when finalising a public art proposal. Students are also advised to consider the nature of public artworks as works that are accessible and susceptible to touch.

Include:

  • Biography about yourself
  • Concept of the work
  • Sketch or render of the proposal
  • Materials you want to use
  • Estimated cost of work
  • Method of fabrication / fabrication company

Selection Criteria

  • Students must be enrolled or have graduated within two years as an alumnus of any local school, university or college
  • Students under 18 years can apply but must have a teacher or guardian responsible for them
  • Student must propose an idea using recycled materials only
  • A proposal document including all criteria indicated in the application form
  • The proposal idea must be within 25,000 QAR
  • The students must execute their proposal by December 2021 and keep into consideration installation and deinstallation logistics

Programme

August: Open Call Announcement
August / September: Proposal Selection
September – December: Project development, workshops, and more
December / January: Exhibition

Mentorship

Public Art Curatorial Planning proposes to arrange a series of workshops with established local artists who are known to work with recycled materials for the students to gain a better understanding of how to re-use various materials and the versatility of recycled artworks. These workshops will be offered to the selected students for them to further develop and enhance their designs.

Exhibition

Location to be confirmed
Date: December 2021
Duration: 1 – 2 months

Share this page

مسابقة الفن العام للطلاب 2021

دعوة مفتوحة

تدعو متاحف قطر الطلاب إلى تقديم مقترحات لمسابقة الفن العام المخصصة للطلاب، من خلال اقتراح عمل للفن العام يتم إنشاؤه باستخدام مواد معاد تدويرها، وذلك تطبيقاً لسياسة متاحف قطر المستدامة "لا نفايات"، وسيُعرض العمل التركيبي بشكل مؤقت في أماكن عامة في الدوحة.

يشترط أن يكون الطلاب المشاركون مسجّلين حالياً في إحدى الجامعات أو الكليات في قطر، أو من الخريجين الذين أتمّوا دراستهم خلال العامين الماضيين، وسيتم منحهم ما يصل إلى 25 ألف ريال قطري لتحويل مفهومهم إلى واقع بحلول شهر ديسمبر 2021.

الموضوع: تقليل/إعادة استخدام/إعادة تدوير

تشجّع الدعوة المفتوحة لهذا العام الطلاب على التفكير في المواد التي يستخدمونها، حيث ينبغي أن تكون المواد المستخدمة لإنشاء المنحوتات متواجدة في حياتنا اليومية،. أما موضوع العمل نفسه فهو مفتوح، ويجب على الطلاب التفكير في المغزى من وراء عملهم.

ومن بين الفنانين المشهورين الذين يستخدمون المواد المعاد تدويرها في أعمالهم: سوبود جوبتا، وجيرا دي لا باز، ويوكين تيرويا، ودوتون بوبولا.

اقتراحك

يجب على الطلاب التفكير في اختيار المواد ومتانتها، وأعمال الأساس، والمصنّعين، وطرق التركيب عند الانتهاء من اقتراح عمل الفن العام. وعلى الطلاب أيضاً الأخذ بعين الاعتبار طبيعة أعمال الفن العام التي تجعل الوصول إليها وتعرّضها للمس سهلاً.

يجب أن يتضمن اقتراحك:

  • سيرة حياتك
  • مفهوم العمل
  • رسم أو صورة غرافيكية للمقترح
  • المواد المستخدمة
  • التكلفة التقديرية للعمل
  • طريقة التصنيع/ شركة التصنيع

معايير الاختيار

  • ينبغي أن يكون الطلاب المشاركون مسجلين حالياً في إحدى الجامعات أو الكليات في قطر، أو من الخريجين الذين أتمّوا دراستهم خلال العامين الماضيين
  • يُمكن للطلاب الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 18 عاماً المشاركة، بشرط أن يكون لديهم مدرّس أو وصي مسؤول بالنيابة عنهم
  • يجب على الطالب اقتراح فكرة باستخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها فقط
  • وثيقة اقتراح تتضمن جميع المعايير الموضحة في نموذج الطلب
  • يجب ألا تتجاوز تكلفة العمل المقترح 25 ألف ريال قطري
  • يجب على الطلاب تنفيذ أعمالهم المقترحة بحلول ديسمبر 2021 مع مراعاة لوجستيات التركيب والتفكيك

البرنامج

أغسطس: إعلان الدعوة المفتوحة

أغسطس - سبتمبر: اختيار المقترحات

سبتمبر - ديسمبر: تطوير المشروع، ورش العمل، إلخ.

ديسمبر - يناير: المعرض

الإشراف

يقترح فريق قيمي إدارة الفن العام تنظيم سلسلة من ورش العمل يقدّمها فنانون محليون بارزون اشتهروا باستخدام المواد المعاد تدويرها، لمساعدة الطلاب على اكتساب فهم أفضل لكيفية إعادة استخدام المواد المختلفة وتنوّع الأعمال الفنية المعاد تدويرها. سيتم تقديم هذه الورش للطلاب الذين يتم اختيارهم لمواصلة تطوير وتعزيز تصاميمهم.

المعرض

سيتم تأكيد المكان لاحقاً

التاريخ: ديسمبر 2021

المدة: 1 - 2 شهر

شارك هذه الصفحة