A spotlight on the object Chaos+Repair=Universe showcasing a sculpture with coloured mirror fragments stitched into a ball shape with metal wires
To What's On

Kader Attia: On Silence

Exhibition

Kader Attia: On Silence is a major solo exhibition dedicated to the work of the artist over the last two decades, curated by Abdellah Karroum with Assistant Curator Lina Ramadan. The exhibition will feature a wide range of work across all media and include site-specific installations, sculptures, collages, drawings, video and photography.

Please note that special operating hours will be in effect at our museums, galleries, shops, restaurants and cafés on select dates during FIFA 2021 Arab Cup™.

Find out more

On Silence explores themes of postcolonial trauma and the ensuing decades of psychiatric 'repair' at the social and individual level. The artist's intention and curatorial approach is to provoke the viewer's emotional and physical experience while encountering works placed at various levels in the museum galleries, seen from above, from underneath, and from within but rarely straight on. There will be two important commissions featured in connection with Doha.

Modern and contemporary history holds some of the noisiest tragedies that humanity has lived through, and our present moment is affected by the traumatic memories of these events. Colonialism, political oppression and environmental devastation have led to massive migrations across continents, transforming social ecologies in every centre of the world. Yet the ideologies and systems of governance today continue to create zones of silence that bury many of these histories.

This exhibition reflects on silence – a phenomenon that can trigger the need to scream – through works that provoke a visceral appreciation of postcolonial trauma and the process of psychiatric 'repair'. Focusing on Attia's practice over the last two decades, the show deals with topics affecting all humanity while looking specifically at the Middle East and North Africa. In this region the 'deafening silence' on cultural, social and historical issues is transforming taboos and limited spaces of expression into challenges to public life and political debate.

Installation called Ghost that showcases multiple aluminium foil ghost-like figures

Ghost, 2007. Aluminum foil, variable dimensions. Installation view "Collector", Le Tri Postal, Lille, 2011/2012. Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Nagel Draxler. Photo: Jean-Pierre Duplan

On Silence has been conceived for Doha, a multicultural global city of migration, continuously adapting to social and political developments in the region and the world. The exhibition aims to engage the audience in reflections on issues of heritage and aspiration, convention and transgression, colonialism and liberation, the local and the transnational. All these are addressed in Attia's work, as are debates on ecology, and our material and non-material relationship to the universe. The continuing thread through his art is a focus on how enforced silence can lead to oppression and trauma, and how this silence can be broken during revolutionary moments in response to injustice.

Two major new works have been commissioned for the exhibition. The first, The Object’s Interlacing, which consists of a film and reproductions of African sculptures, explores the labyrinthine debate surrounding the restitution of artefacts taken from the continent during colonial times. The second, On Silence, is an installation made of multiple body prostheses, presenting objects of repair for people who have lost limbs in conflict zones. The work, placed at the centre of the show, invites visitors to reflect on the exhibition themes, which create a powerful catalyst for discussion and contemplation. These two recent works evoke the idea of silence as a necessary state in every dialogue, alongside voices, movement, imagination and emotion.

From the series Mirrors and Masks, the sculpture showcases a carved wooden bird-like figure attached to a mask made from mirrors and steel

From the series Mirrors and Masks, 2013–15. Wood mask, mirror and steel, variable dimensions. Exhibition view The Museum of Emotion, Hayward Gallery, London, 2019. Courtesy the artist and Galerie Nagel Draxler. Photo: Thierry Bal

From the series Following the Modern Genealogy, the image showcases photographs and vintage documents attached on cardboard

From the series Following the Modern Genealogy, 2012–21. Photographs and vintage documents on cardboard, 80 x 120 cm (each). Courtesy the artist, Galerie Nagel Draxler, Lehmann Maupin, Regen Project

About the Artist

Born in Dugny in the north of Paris in 1970, Kader Attia grew up between Algeria and France. He went on to study at the École Duperré (Paris, 1993); the Escola Massana Sin Barcelona (1994); and the École nationale supérieure des arts décoratifs (Paris, 1998), before spending several years in Congo and South America.

Attia's work is developed using multimedia objects embedded with theoretical references and archival materials that investigate thought systems and ideologies. His exploration of the material and nonmaterial existence of traditional civilisations asks questions of the colonial legacies that colour perceptions of history and claims of ownership within societies today. His work draws attention to contemporary issues of cultural identity, immigration, gender and politics.

Recent solo exhibitions include: Kader Attia. Remembering the Future, Kunsthaus, Zürich (2020); The Museum of Emotion, The Hayward Gallery, London (2019); Roots also grow in concrete, Mac Val, Vitry-sur-Seine (2018); and Repair. 5 Acts, KW Institute, Berlin (2013). Group exhibitions include: Participation Mystique, Shanghai Ming Contemporary Art Museum, Shanghai (2020); Our World Is Burning, Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2020); When Home Won’t Let You Stay: Migration Through Contemporary Art, ICA Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston (2019); the 12th Gwangju Biennale (2018); Viva Art Viva, the 57th Venice Biennale (2017); Tamawuj, the 13th Sharjah Art Biennale (2017); The City in the Blue Daylight, Dak’Art 2016, the 12th Dakar Biennale for Contemporary African Art (2016); Rainbow in the Dark, SALT Galata, Istanbul (2014–15); Documenta (13), Kassel (2012).

In 2016, Attia established La Colonie in Paris, a decolonial space for dialogue and exchange, focused on amplifying the voices of marginalised artists and thinkers. He has been awarded the Marcel Duchamp Prize (2016); the Joan Miró Prize (2017); and the Yanghyun Art Prize (2017). He was also a recipient of the Abraj Capital Prize (2010) and Prize of the Cairo Biennale (2008). Kader Attia lives and works between Germany and France.

Share this page

صورة تسلّط الضوء على العمل الفني فوضى+إصلاح=كون، وتظهر منحوتة عبارة عن أجزاء مرايا ملونة مثبتة على شكل كرة بأسلاك معدنية
To الفعاليات

قادر عطية: عن الصمت

المعارض

قادر عطية: "عن الصمت" هو معرض فردي مخصّص لأعمال الفنان قادر عطية خلال العقدين الماضيين، من تقييم عبد الله كروم وقيّمة المعرض المساعِدة لينا رمضان.

سيشمل المعرض مجموعة واسعة من الأعمال المتعددة الوسائط، إضافة إلى تركيبات خاصة بالموقع في متحف، ومنحوتات، والكولاج، ورسومات، وفيديو، وصور فوتوغرافية.

يتناول معرض"عن الصمت" موضوعات مخلفات ما بعد الاستعمار والعقود التي تلتها من "الإصلاح" النفسي على المستوى الاجتماعي والفردي. ويهدف الفنان من خلاله إلى إثارة التجربة العاطفية والجسدية للزوّار أثناء مشاهدتهم الأعمال الموضوعة على مستويات مختلفة، تُرى من الأعلى ومن الأسفل ومن الداخل ولكن نادراً ما تكون مباشرة. وسيقدّم المعرض كذلك عمليين فنيين جديدين تمّ إعدادهما خصيصاً للدوحة.

شهد التاريخ الحديث والمعاصر بعضاً من أضج المآسي التي مرّت على البشرية، والحقبة الراهنة متأثرة بما خلّفته تلك الأحداث من ذكريات مؤلمة. كما أدّت عوامل الاستعمار والاضطهاد السياسي والدمار البيئي إلى موجات هجرة ضخمة عبر القارات، وهو ما أدخل تحوّلات على النسيج الاجتماعي في كافة أرجاء العالم. إلا أن الأيديولوجيات وأنظمة الحكم المعمول بها في عصرنا الحالي تواصل غالباً خلق فضاءات من الصمت تؤدي إلى طمس الكثير من تلك السرديات التاريخية.

يُعالج المعرض مفهوم الصمت، تلك الظاهرة التي تستدعي الصراخ، من خلال مجموعة أعمال تستحضر تأملاً معمقاً في تلك الصدمات التي تلت الاستعمار وما ينطوي على ذلك من حالة "إصلاح" نفسي. ويساهم التركيز على الأعمال التي أنتجها الفنان على مدى العقدين الماضيين، بسرد المعرض لقضايا تؤثّر على الإنسانية بأسرها، ولكن مع الاهتمام بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا التي تشهد حالة من "الصمت المطبق" في قضايا ثقافية، واجتماعية، وتاريخية، والتابوهات التي تقلّص فضاءات التعبير وتجعلها بمثابة تحديات في الحياة العامة والنقاش السياسي. 

العمل الفني"شبح" الذي يعرض أشكالًا متعددة تشبه أشباح مصنوعة من رقائق الألومنيوم.

"شبح"، 2007، رقائق ألومنيوم، أبعاد مختلفة. صورة للعمل من معرض "جامِع الأعمال الفنية"، غاليري لو تري بوستال، ليل، 2011-2012. تُنشر الصورة بإذن من الفنان وغاليري ناجيل دريكسلر. بعدسة: جان بول دوبلان.

تمّ تنظيم هذا المعرض خصيصاً للدوحة، وهي مدينة عالمية للسفر، متعددة الثقافات ومستمرة التأقلم والتكيّف على الدوام مع التطورات الاجتماعية والسياسية في المنطقة والعالم. يسعى المعرض إلى دفع الجمهور لتقصّي مواضيع التراث والتطلع، والعهود والاعتداء، والاستعمار والتحرير، ومفهوم المحلي والعابر للحدود. وإلى جانب هذه المواضيع، تطرح أعمال قادر نقاشات بخصوص البيئة وعلاقتنا المادية وغير المادية بالكون. أما القاسم المشترَك الذي يربط إنتاجه الفني هو التركيز على إمكانية الصمت القسري أن يؤدي للاضطهاد والصدمة، وكيف يمكن أحياناً كسر هذا الصمت خلال لحظات ثورية تأتي كردّ فعل على حالة الظلم.

يضمّ المعرض عملين رئيسين تم إنتاجهما خصيصاً لقاعات المتحف. الأول هو "تشابك الأشياء" والذي ينطوي على فيلم ونِسخ شبه الأصل من منحوتات أفريقية، ويستقصي الجدل المعقَّد المرتبط بإعادة الأعمال الفنية واللقى الأثرية التي تمّ الاستحواذ عليها من القارة الأفريقية خلال حقبة الاستعمار. أما الثاني "عن الصمت" فهو عمل تركيبي مكوّن من أطراف صناعية تُجسد وسيلة من وسائل علاج ضحايا فقدوا أطرافهم في مناطق النزاعات. يُمثل هذا العمل، الذي صُمّم لقلب المعرض، دعوة للزوّار للتفكير بالمواضيع المطروحة ومحفّزاً قوياً للنقاش والتأمل. وإلى جانب الصوت والحركة والخيال والمشاعر، يستحضر هذان العملان مفهوم الصمت باعتباره حالة ضرورية لكل حوار.

من سلسلة المرايا والأقنعة، يعرض التمثال شكلاً خشبياً منحوتاً يشبه الطيور مثبتاً على قناع مصنوع من المرايا والفولاذ

من سلسلة "مرايا وأقنعة"، 2013، خشب ومرايا وفولاذ، أبعاد مختلفة. صورة للعمل من معرض "متحف المَشاعر"، غاليري هايوارد، لندن، 2019. تُنشر الصورة بإذن من الفنان وغاليري ناجيل دريكسلر. بعدسة: تيري بال.





لقطة تعرض صوراً فوتوغرافية ووثائق قديمة مرفقة على الورق المقوى.

من سلسلة "متابعة إرث الحداثة"، 2012–2021، صور فوتوغرافية ووثائق قديمة على ورق مقوّى، 80 × 120 سم (كل عمل). تُنشر الصورة بإذن من الفنان وغاليري ناجيل دريكسلر، لهمان موبين، مشروع ريغين.

نبذة عن الفنان

وُلد قادر عطية في بلدة دوغني شمال باريس عام 1970، ونشأ متنقلاً بين الجزائر وفرنسا. تخرّج من كلية دوبيريه في العاصمة الفرنسية عام 1993، وكلية ماسانا في برشلونة عام 1994، والمدرسة الوطنية العليا للفنون الزخرفية في باريس عام 1998، قبل أن يمضي عدة سنوات في كلٍّ من الكونغو وأمريكا الجنوبية.

يستخدم عطية في أعماله خامات ووسائط متعددة مع إحالات لمفاهيم نظرية ومواد أرشيفية تستقصي الأنظمة الفكرية والأيديولوجيات. استكشافه لكينونة كل ما هو ماديّ وغير ماديّ في الحضارات التقليدية يأتي ليطرح أسئلة بخصوص أشكال الإرث الاستعماري في مجتمع اليوم والتي تُبدِّل سرديات التاريخ وتزعم امتلاك ما ليس لها. كما تُسلّط أعمال عطية الضوء على قضايا معاصرة، ولا سيما الهوية الثقافية والهجرة والنوع الاجتماعي والسياسة.

من بين المعارض الفردية الأحدث التي أُقيمت للفنان "قادر عطية: تذكُّر المستقبل"، متحف الفنون، زيورخ (2020)؛ "متحف المشاعِر" (غاليري هايوارد)، لندن (2019)؛ "تنمو الجذور في الإسمنت أيضاً"، متحف الفن المعاصر، فيتري سور سين (2018)؛ و"إصلاح. 5 فصول"، معهد كونست فيركيه للفن المعاصر، برلين (2013). كما ساهم في العديد من المعارض الجماعية، منها: "مشاركة غامضة"، متحف شانغهاي مينغ للفن المعاصر، شانغهاي (2020)؛ "عالمنا يحترق"، متحف قصر طوكيو، باريس (2020)؛ و"عندما يمنعك الوطن من البقاء. الهجرة في الفن المعاصر"، معهد الفنون المعاصرة، بوسطن (2019)؛ الدورة 12 لبينالي غوانجو (2018)؛ "فيفا آرت فيفا"، الدورة 57 لبينالي البندقية (2017)؛ "تماوُج"، الدورة 13 لبينالي الشارقة (2017)؛ "المدينة في ضوء النهار الأزرق"، داك آرت 2016، الدورة 12 لبينالي داكار للفن الأفريقي المعاصر (2016)؛ "قوس قزح في الظلام"، مؤسسة سالت غلاطة، إسطنبول (2014-2015)؛ والدورة 13 لمعرض دوكيومنتا، كاسل (2012).

أسَّس عطية في باريس عام 2016 فضاءً للحوار وتبادل الخبرات يهتم بتفكيك الفكر الاستعماري، ويُركز على الإعلاء من شأن أصوات الفنانين والمفكرين المهمَّشين. كما نال جائزة مارسيل دوشامب عام 2016، وجائزة خوان ميرون عام 2017؛ وجائزة يانغهيون الفنية عام 2017، وجائزة أبراج كابيتال للفنون عام 2010، وجائزة بينالي القاهرة عام 2008. 

يُقيم قادر عطية ويعمل متنقلاً بين ألمانيا وفرنسا.   

شارك هذه الصفحة